preloder

Once upon a time in Le Moulin du Kaegy

in Steinbrunn-Le-Bas

keyboard_arrow_down
An estate full of history
le domaine du kaegy mulhouse

1565

The diocese of Bâle was originally created along with Le Moulin du Kaegy, which was built for grinding flour.

1918

Throughout the years, Le Moulin du Kaegy was operated by several families, who used the windmill up until the 1st World War. From 1918 until 1936, the windmill was still only used to grind cereals for use as livestock feed. The last family of millers at the Windmill was the BOHRER family.

le domaine du kaegy mulhouse

1960

The MUNTZ family, which is the BOHRER family heir and her husband, decided to sell Le Moulin du Kaegy to the SIM (Mulhouse Industrial Society), which planned to turn it into a restaurant.

1961

Opening the restaurant. Mr ENGASSER the manager, was also the head of the Alsace potash mines.

1962

On the 24 September 1962 at 3 in the morning, Le Moulin du Kaegy fell victim to a fire which devastated the establishment. SIM then commissioned the architect Yves RUHLMANN, to restore the damaged building whilst preserving its spirit.

1963

Yves RUHLMANN finished the refurbishment and decoration of the new restaurant; this was the beginning of Bernard BEGAT’s adventure, after moving to Kaegy with his family. His delicate and refined cuisine, matching the surroundings, was recognised with “étoile Michelin”. Le Moulin du Kaegy remained a gastronomic institution for over 30 years.

le domaine du kaegy mulhouse
le domaine du kaegy mulhouse

1997

Bernard BEGAT sold Le Moulin du Kaegy to friends, who made it their private residence.

2016

Camille SCHNECKENBURGER and Antony MEZZAROBBA became the Moulin du Kaegy’s new owners. Thoroughly charmed by this authentic Alsatian building, the land that surrounds it and its history, they wanted to reopen its doors to the public. This was the start of two years of work which would see the couple surrounded by the best professionals, for a transformation befitting this exceptional location.

le domaine du kaegy mulhouse
2018
A renovation with heart

Le Moulin du Kaegy has been transformed into a luxury hotel, and is ready to welcome guests again after 20 years, under the new name: Le Domaine du Kaegy.  This is a new chapter in the long life of Kaegy.

Contact us
Discover the delivery area

preloder

Il était une fois le Moulin du Kaegy

à Steinbrunn-Le-Bas

keyboard_arrow_down
Un patrimoine chargé d'histoire
le domaine du kaegy mulhouse

1565

L’évêché de Bâle est à l’origine de la création du Moulin du Kaegy, dans le but d’y moudre la farine.

1918

Durant toutes ces années, le Moulin du Kaegy est exploité par plusieurs familles qui font fonctionner le moulin jusqu’à la 1ère guerre mondiale. Après 1918 et ce jusqu’à 1936, le moulin est encore uniquement utilisé pour broyer des céréales destinées au bétail. La dernière famille de meuniers du Moulin du Kaegy s’appelait BOHRER.

le domaine du kaegy mulhouse

1960

La famille MUNTZ, composée de l’héritière BOHRER et de son mari, décide de vendre le Moulin du Kaegy à la SIM (Société Industrielle de Mulhouse), qui projette d’en faire un restaurant.

1961

Ouverture du restaurant. Monsieur ENGASSER, son gérant, est également à la tête de la ferme des mines de potasse d’Alsace.

1962

Le 24 septembre 1962 à 3h du matin, le Moulin du Kaegy est victime d’un incendie dévastateur pour l’établissement. La SIM mandate alors l’architecte Yves RUHLMANN, pour restaurer le bâtiment endommagé en lui conservant son âme.

1963

Yves RUHLMANN termine la réfection et la décoration du nouveau restaurant; C’est le début de l’aventure de Bernard BEGAT qui s’installe au Kaegy avec sa famille. Sa cuisine délicate et raffinée, à l’image du cadre, est récompensée d’une étoile Michelin. Le Moulin du Kaegy demeure ainsi une institution gastronomique pendant plus de 30 ans.

le domaine du kaegy mulhouse
le domaine du kaegy mulhouse

1997

Bernard BEGAT vend le Moulin du Kaegy à des amis qui en font leur
habitation privée.

2016

Camille SCHNECKENBURGER et Antony MEZZAROBBA deviennent les nouveaux propriétaires du Moulin du Kaegy. Véritablement charmés par cette authentique bâtisse alsacienne, par le domaine qui l’entoure et par son histoire, ils ont l’envie de rouvrir ses portes au public. C’est le départ de deux années de travaux où le couple de propriétaires va s’entourer des meilleurs professionnels, pour une transformation à la hauteur de ce lieu d’exception.

le domaine du kaegy mulhouse
2018
Une rénovation faite avec le coeur

Le Moulin du Kaegy est métamorphosé en une somptueuse villa hôtelière et vous accueille à nouveau après 20 années en sommeil, sous sa nouvelle appellation « Domaine du Kaegy ». Un nouveau chapitre de la longue vie du Kaegy.

Nous contacter
Découvrir les prestations du Domaine du Kaegy